What Is Tort Law In California Car Insurance?
California is known to be a tort law state when it comes to car insurance coverage. This gives the ability to the victim, if they are injured in an accident, to sue the other driver who is held liable. Not just this one simple rule, but there are some other laws as well in this state that the consumers in the Golden State should be aware of if they are looking to get insured.
Insurance Coverage Required To Drive Legally In California
15/30/5 is the least coverage limit of the liability protection that is required to operate a vehicle. This means that $ 15,000 is the total amount for physical injury per person who is involved in an accident; $ 30,000 is the total physical damage per accident for more than one person and $5,000 is for the damage of another person’s property such as their vehicle. This coverage protects the other people if it were the insured causes an accident while driving. But the limits required by California auto insurance laws are not set very high. They rarely are sufficient enough to actually cover all the expenses resulting from the accident. If this is the case, the person found responsible can be sued personally for any additional expenses above the limits stated on the policy. This is why it is always better that the person carries, in advance, a bit higher coverage limits.
Insurers Required To Offer The Lowest Price Policy To Californians Searching For Quotes
Also there is a law that states that the insuring company should offer the lowest price to the customer, which he is deemed eligible for. Every insuring company in the state has a toll free number that Californians can call in case they have any questions about pricing. It is also required that while you are obtaining car insurance quotes for the insurers to at least offer you uninsured motorist coverage before starting up the policy. If you are not interested in that type of protection, there is a signature needed to acknowledge that it was offered but you declined to purchase it.
Buying An Inexpensive Insurance Policy In California
Now that you understand the laws in CA, you can begin your search for low cost auto insurance. Comparing rates from many different companies is highly recommended to make sure that you get the absolute cheapest price on your policy. Sites like 2autoinsurance.com offer side by side comparisons to view payment plans from multiple carriers at once.
Getting quotes is fast and easy. Once you have decided on which program you want to go with you can move on to purchasing your policy. Many of the top companies have made this very easy to do with the option to buy car insurance online. The process usually only takes about 15 minutes to complete which is much less time and hassle than if you drove down to an insurance agents office.